Starting from Scratch

Just when you think you’re finished (You’ve written and edited an entire full-length novel!), then you start thinking about what’s next: the next novel. While I have an idea for a sequel to my finished first manuscript, I’ve decided for now to work on another new concept. I have my characters, plot, and even some scenes outlined, but for some reason I can’t find the proper motivation to begin actually writing.

I’ve tried writing several scenes throughout the beginning of the story, thinking I can piece them all together with transitions later on; however, that’s not the way I typically write. I like to work in consecutive order, from beginning to end. This way, I don’t have to go back and make a lot of edits once all the details are in place; I’ll already know the details of what’s happened and how to better use them for what’s still to come. All writers have different approaches; this is just mine.

I also feel as though I have to ‘get to know’ my main players in the story. Sure I’ve created them and all the quirks in their personalities, but as I start to write, those names on the page slowly become actual people. This goes along with the wonderful quote from Mr. Hemingway in my last post. I agree with him 100% and I strive to acheive this with my characters.

I guess I just have to start slowly and I’m sure before I know it, the creative juices will start a-churnin’. Although a new blank Word document can be really intimidating, I’m excited to begin this new journey. I’m sure I’ll learn a lot along the way, not only about writing and from what my characters reveal to me, but also new things about myself.

Happy Reading and Writing!

MMcKnight

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Characters, Manuscript, Outline, Writing

Leave a comment