Where Do I Belong?

So it’s been a loooong time since I last posted, but I just returned home from my first ever writing critique group sesh (YA focused) and I can’t help but feel a little discouraged. Not entirely about my writing itself, but if I really belong in the group.

For the longest time I considered myself a YA writer which I still kinda do, but my latest manuscript I was told, was New Adult instead just based on the character’s age ranges. This was an eye-opener and I started reading all about this new genre; however when I read what other people were saying about the genre, I didn’t feel like my story should necessarily be grouped in with that label. Most people consider New Adult to mean sexed-up YA, but in my novel, while there are sexual situations, I don’t go into any graphic details AT ALL. So this leaves me again with where do I fit in? (Ironic since that’s a recurrent theme in the YA world).

Then I was told I might benefit from a romance writers’ group. Well, I always had this notion of “Romance” as a genre of being explicit erotica with Fabio on the cover. Apparently this isn’t the case, I was pleased to find out. In fact, there are groups that focus specifically on YA Romances.

This came as a relief since the group I just met with didn’t focus on romance that much. So I definitely want to take advantage of the Romance groups out there now and I want to thank Daniel from the group for the encouragement to do so.

I did enjoy reading other people’s work and hopefully next time I will get to know the members better and feel more open sharing my words with them. (I was terrified the first time because I’ve never shared my work before). However, I realize that romance groups may be the better direction for me and I plan on taking that path at least in addition to the group I currently belong to now. (Thanks again Daniel!)

-M. McKnight

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Where Do I Belong?

  1. Write what you want to write. If you don’t belong in one place find another to belong to. The uncategorized is often the most interesting category.

  2. Benjamin

    Great writing is great writing. I’m sick of artists arguing over what genre best describes their art; creating factions and pushing people out. Don’t buy the artistic hierarchy BS. I submit that all truly great art doesn’t fit into a neat little box.

Leave a comment