YA Authors Panel

Yesterday I had the wonderful opportunity to attend a YA Authors Panel hosted by a writing group I belong to. I met and talked with Young Adult authors, Nicole Zoltack, Jennifer R. Hubbard, John Evans and Alissa Grosso. All of them had inspiring insights into the world of writing for teens, most that I agree with as well.

One of the most important things about writing for young adults is to write in their voice. For instance, when I write, I allow the voice of the character to fully dictate their actions and dialogue. I never try to “talk down” to a teen level; however, I present the story through a teen’s eyes. It doesn’t matter if I would personally do the complete opposite in the same given situation, I have to stay completely true to that character’s voice. Voice is so vital in YA.

Another important thing to keep in mind is to write so that the teen feels it is easy to place themselves in the protagonist’s shoes. Have them feel hope for your character, empathy, have them grieve right alongside them. Knowing teenagers, they fully immerse themselves in a story and often feel like they personally know the characters, like they are lifelong friends. Give readers someone they would want to root for.

Lastly, I believe that YA authors need to be truthful in their writing. Adolescence is not by any means a glamorous time of one’s life, but it is, however, a transitional period in which people must cope with facing reality, discovering their personal identity, finding first love, driving a car, fitting in, getting their first jobs, and often learning that the world is a much bigger and scarier place than they ever realized. For all these reasons and more, I LOVE writing about and for young and new adults.

~M. McKnight

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Characters, Reading, Writing, Young Adult

2 responses to “YA Authors Panel

  1. Benjamin

    I agree 100%. I’d add that YA readers, especially teen readers, are just as sophisticated as adult readers and ought to be treated with respect and maturity. A good, compelling story with believable characters matters as much to young readers as to adults. Ripping off recent successes like “Twilight” or “The Hunger Games” isn’t enough. We owe young readers new, fresh, interesting, engaging, deep, emotional, mature storytelling. Keep up the good work M. McKnight

    • Thanks Benjamin! I couldn’t have said it better myself. The publishing industry is flooded with stories that are reminiscent of best sellers (especially in the paranormal and post-apocalyptic novels). While I do enjoy reading about these topics, I get dismayed when I start reading a book and it sounds EXACTLY like the plot of Hunger Games with several small changes. Lately, I’ve been avoiding these topics, sticking to realistic fiction. I like to write about things that teens can not only imagine, but that they can relate to.

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a comment